Financial Law


The Financial Law Committee looks at areas impacting banking and financial transactions, digital assets, business, the Stock Exchange and emerging market structures, securities, international finance, national securities and investment issues, and electronic documents, among others. This committee has one of the widest briefs of all the CLLS specialist committees. 


Sarah Smith

Committee Chair / Partner, Baker McKenzie

Sarah is a partner in Baker McKenzie’s Banking and Finance practice group. Her practice is focused on a broad spectrum of finance-related matters, principally financial restructuring of corporate debt, structured finance and securitisation transactions (including restructuring such transactions) and bank regulatory matters, principally involving advice to investors in regulatory capital instruments. She has advised on numerous complex financial restructurings, principally cross-border restructurings, where her focus has principally been on advice to investors and ad hoc creditors' committees.

[email protected]


Committee Members

Vice Chair: Edward Fife (Slaughter and May)

Vice Chair: Emma Giddings (Norton Rose Fulbright LLP)

Penny Angell (Hogan Lovells International LLP)

James Bresslaw (Simmons and Simmons LLP)

Matt Dunn (Clifford Chance LLP)

Mark Evans (Travers Smith LLP)

Jake Jackaman (Herbert Smith Freehills LLP)

Flora McLean (Freshfields Bruckhaus Deringer LLP)

Simon Roberts (A&O Shearman LLP)

Jeremy Stokeld (Linklaters LLP)

Nick Swiss (Eversheds LLP)

Nigel Ward (Ashurst LLP)

Presley Warner (Sullivan & Cromwell LLP)

Secretary: Vicky Salmon (Baker & McKenzie LLP)