The Training Law Committee plays a leading role in the promotion and maintenance of continuing education for the profession, including the development of the SQE. It has leadership of the SWSQF and City Century projects, funding students and apprentice solicitors. It leads for the CLLS in considering how city firms deliver legal services, what this means for learning and development, law firm human resource management, training, diversity, and inclusion, and looks at resilience and mental health/wellbeing of trainees and their equivalent colleagues.


Patrick McCann

Committee Chair / Director of Learning, Linklaters

Patrick is Linklaters’ Director of Learning and responsible for the articulation and implementation of the firm’s learning and development strategy, managing a team of over 30. He has been involved in adult education since 1995 and specialises in the design and delivery of business skills development programmes for colleagues and clients of the firm. His areas of particular interest include compliance, negotiations, people matters, leadership, commercial understanding, communication skills and decision-making.

[email protected]


Committee Members

Vice Chair: Julia Robinson (Ropes & Gray LLP)

Richard Album (Watson Farley & Williams LLP)

Peter Carrick (Clifford Chance LLP)

Katy Dyer (Trowers and Hamlins LLP)

Lindsay Gerrand (Clyde & Co LLP)

James Harvey (Weil Gotshal & Manges LLP)

Joanna Hughes (Joanna Hughes Solicitor Apprenticeships)

Greg Lascelles (Covington & Burling LLP)

Louisa Mendes da Costa (Allen and Overy LLP)

Frances Moore (Slaughter and May)

Laura Scarlett (Hogan Lovells LLP)

Dominic Sedghi (Macfarlanes LLP)

Colin Shaw (Norton Rose Fulbright LLP)

Charlotte Wanendeya (BPP University Law School)

Rosie Warren-Cafferty (Independent member)

Rachel Wevill (Travers Smith LLP)

Kirsty Wilkins (Shearman & Sterling (London) LLP)

Camilla Brignall (Linklaters LLP) (Secretary)