Professional Rules and Regulation


The Professional Rules and Regulation Committee considers issues affecting the solicitors’ profession itself, including changes to the rules governing professional conduct, matters affecting the new and alternative structures for solicitors’ businesses, and carrying forward our engagement with other organisations, such as the Law Society, the Bar Council, CILEX, and the LSB.


Clare Wilson

Committee Chair / General Counsel, Herbert Smith Freehills

Clare advises HSF on its risk and regulatory position as well as its liabilities to clients and others in the course of its professional work. She has broad corporate and commercial experience, having worked in the firm’s New York and Hong Kong offices, in addition to the London office. She was HSF’s first Chief Information Security Officer.

[email protected]


Committee Members

Vice Chair: Mike Pretty (DLA Piper UK LLP)

Robin Abraham (Clifford Chance LLP)

Julia Adams (Slaughter and May)

Tracey Butcher (Mayer Brown International LLP)

Fergal Cathie (Clyde and Co LLP)

Annette Fritze-Shanks (Allen & Overy LLP)

Sonya Foulds (Cleary Gottlieb Steen & Hamilton LLP)

Daniel Macaluso (Linklaters LLP)

Iain Miller (Kingsley Napley LLP)

Secretary: Sarah Boland (Freshfields Bruckhaus Deringer LLP)