The Environmental, Social & Governance (ESG) Committee was founded in May 2023 upon a collective belief among CLLS members that ESG is important, relevant to firms’ clients, and increasingly likely to impact the business of law in the City of London. The Committee’s work will reflect the wide range of issues that businesses need to consider in today’s operating environment, and will meet regularly to discuss pending legislation, law reform, and practice issues in the ESG field.


Roger Leese

Committee Chair / Partner, Clifford Chance

Roger has a wide range of expertise in commercial, corporate, private equity, fraud, banking and financial services disputes. Roger co-heads Clifford Chance’s Global Business and Human Rights practice which advises clients across a range of jurisdictions and sectors in connection with the UN Guiding Principles on Business and Human Rights ("UNGPs") and related international standards and local legislation. He also increasingly advises on climate change related business risk.

[email protected]


Committee Members

Vice Chair: Anna-Marie Slot (Ashurst LLP)

Vice Chair: Greg Norman (Skadden, Arps, Slate, Meagher & Flom LLP)

Matt Townsend (Allen & Overy LLP)

Sung-Hyui Park (Bates Wells LLP)

Rebecca Perlman (Herbert Smith Freehills LLP)

Harry Hecht (Slaughter & May)

Sophie Kemp (Kingsley Napley LLP)

Michelle Bradfield (Jones Day LLP)

Emma Victoria Giddings (Norton Rose Fulbright LLP)

Kerry Stares (Charles Russell Speechlys LLP)

Naomi Roper (Trowers Hamlins LLP)

Sonali Siriwardena (Simmons & Simmons LLP)

Mindy Hauman (White & Case LLP)

Stephen Sykes (Individual member)

Simon Witney (Travers Smith Braithwaite LLP)

Secretary: Peter Wickham (Slaughter and May)