Data Law


The Data Law Committee looks across the range of data law issues affecting the legal profession and their clients. The committee keeps a focus on the ever-spreading impact of data protection and regulation across the activities of the profession and their clients. It has a good working relationship with the Information Commissioner, feeding into guidance from that office.


Jon Bartley

Committee Chair / Partner, RPC

Jon specialises in data protection and cybersecurity, digital technology and consumer law. He has 25 years' experience as a data protection, commercial contracts and technology lawyer. Jon leads the Data Advisory team, part of RPC's wider Data & Privacy group, including specialist Data Disputes and Data Breach teams.

[email protected]


Committee Members

Vice Chair: Rebecca Cousin (Slaughter and May)

Kate Brimsted (Bryan Cave Leighton Paisner LLP)

Miriam Everett (Herbert Smith Freehills LLP)

Barry Fishley (Weil, Gotshal & Manges LLP)

Tim Hickman (White and Case LLP)

Jonathan Kirsop (Pinsent Masons LLP)

Jade Kowalski (DAC Beachcroft LLP)

Jonathan McDonald (Osborne Clarke LLP)

Ross McKean (DLA Piper (UK) LLP)

Cynthia O’Donoghue (Reed Smith LLP)

Giles Pratt (Freshfields Bruckhaus Deringer LLP)

Eve-Christie Vermynck (Skadden, Arps, Slate, Meagher & Flom LLP)

Rhiannon Webster (Ashurst LLP)

Secretary: Luke Dixon (Freeths LLP)