Planning and Environmental Law


Alongside the CLLS Energy Law Committee, the Planning and Environmental Law Committee leads for the CLLS on issues affecting the environment. It covers all aspects of work affecting the planning process, and leads the CLLS in considering major infrastructure programmes.


Matthew White

Committee Chair / Partner, Herbert Smith Freehills

Matthew is a partner in HSF’s Real Estate division and is Head of Planning in London. He is also joint lead partner for the EMEA Real Estate sector at the firm and is responsible for client relationship and thought leadership initiatives to grow the firm's cross-practice real estate sector expertise. Matthew has 25 years of experience of planning across all aspects of contentious and non-contentious planning and development law.

[email protected]


Committee Members

Vice Chair: Paul Davies (Latham & Watkins LLP)

Jacqueline Backhaus (Trowers and Hamlins LLP)

Rory Bennett (Linklaters LLP)

John Bowman (Fieldfisher LLP)

Douglas Bryden (Freshfields Bruckhaus Deringer LLP)

Ashley Damiral (CMS Cameron McKenna Nabarro Olswang LLP)

Christian Drage (BCLP LLP)

Claire Dutch (Ashurst LLP)

Matthew Evans (Forsters LLP)

Duncan Field (Town Legal LLP)

Claire Fallows (Charles Russell Speechlys LLP)

Valerie Fogleman (Stevens & Bolton LLP)

Ian Ginbey (Clyde & Co LLP)

Brian Greenwood (Clyde & Co LLP)

Sara Hanrahan (Lewis Silkin LLP)

Nigel Howorth (Clifford Chance LLP)

Rupert Jones (Independent)

Richard Keczkes (Slaughter and May)

Tim Pugh (Independent)

Joshua Risso-Gill (CMS Cameron McKenna Nabarro Olswang LLP)

Louise Samuel (Town Legal LLP)

Gary Sector (Addleshaw Goddard LLP)

Robert Share (A&O Shearman LLP)

Ben Stansfield (Gowling WLG LLP)

Christopher Stanwell (Fieldfisher LLP)

Stephen Webb (Brecher LLP)

Secretary: Helen Hutton (Michelmores LLP)