Land Law


The Land Law Committee is one of the lead CLLS committees in preparing model precedent documents for use across the legal profession for land law transactions, including its certificate of title documents, and wayleave agreements. The committee covers areas such as commercial leasehold, and reform of commonhold and leasehold properties.


Jackie Newstead

Committee Chair / Partner, Hogan Lovells

Jackie has been helping investors, developers, and occupiers with acquisitions and disposals of investments, some held directly, and some held through investment vehicles. Over the last 30 years she has worked with most asset classes, from office, retail, and logistics to hotels, residential, student housing, car auction sites, and bingo halls. She has also aided clients with the development of land sites across the asset classes–from land acquisition, to finance, letting, and ultimate sale. Jackie served for many years as the head of Hogan Lovells’ global Real Estate Practice and Industry Sector.

[email protected]


Committee Members

Nick Barnes (Macfarlanes LLP)

Andy Bruce (Linklaters LLP)

Jamie Chapman (Ashurst LLP)

Caroline DeLaney (Stevens & Bolton LLP)

Jayne Elkins (Field Fisher LLP)

Adrian Footer (Druces LLP)

David Hawkins (Norton Rose Fulbright LLP)

Victoria Hills (Freshfields Bruckhaus Deringer LLP)

Matthew Hooton (Simmons & Simmons LLP)

Stephen Josephides (Veale Wasbrough Vizards LLP)

Simon Kenley (Bryan Cave Leighton Paisner LLP)

Paul Kenny (Knights Plc)

Omer Maroof (DLA Piper UK LLP)

John Nevin (Slaughter and May)

Brigid North (Reed Smith LLP)

Franc Pena (Clifford Chance LLP)

Julian Pollock (Herbert Smith Freehills LLP)

Jeremy Shields (CMS Cameron McKenna Nabarro Olswang LLP)

Patrick Williams (Fried, Frank, Harris, Shriver & Jacobson (London) LLP)

Emma Willoughby (A&O Shearman)

Secretary: Warren Gordon (CMS Cameron McKenna Nabarro Olswang LLP)