Insurance Law


The Insurance Law Committee reflects the importance of the insurance market represented by UK law firms based in the City of London. It equally reflects the status of the UK in the international insurance market, and considers issues such as frameworks for the regulation of the industry, reinsurance issues, and insurance litigation.


Philip Hill

Committee Chair / Partner, Clifford Chance

Philip has over 20 years' experience dealing with a wide range of commercial, corporate, financial services and banking disputes and regulatory issues. He has extensive experience handling complex, multiparty and frequently cross-border disputes in the courts and in arbitration. Philip co-heads Clifford Chance's contentious insurance group.

[email protected]


Committee Members

Andrew Barton (MacFarlanes LLP)

George Belcher (Skadden Arps Slate Meagher & Flom (UK) LLP)

Simon Brooks (Eversheds LLP)

Beth Dobson (Slaughter and May)

Victor Formasier (Hogan Lovells International LLP)

Christopher Foster (Holman Fenwick Willan LLP)

Simon Garrett (CMS Cameron McKenna Nabarro Olswang LLP)

Joanna Grant (Fenchurch Law Ltd)

Bob Haken (Norton Rose Fulbright LLP)

Chris Jefferis (XL Catlin LLP)

Francis Mackie (Browne Jacobson LLP)

Geoffrey Maddock (Herbert Smith Freehills)

Martin Mankabady (Dentons UKMEA LLP)

Michael Mendelowitz (Ergo Versicherung AG, UK)

Joanna Page (Allen & Overy LLP)

Matthew Rutter (DAC Beachcroft LLP)

Victoria Sanders (Latham & Watkins LLP)

George Swan (Freshfields Bruckhaus Deringer LLP)

Jonathan Teacher (Swiss Re)

Barnaby Winckler (Kennedys Law LLP)

Secretary: Disha Gulati (Clifford Chance LLP)