Energy Law


The Energy Law Committee considers City practitioners’ views on developments across energy law, driven both by the EU agenda and by the UK Government’s position. It looks at issues affecting the suppliers of energy in the UK, covering the traditional sources of energy as well as looking at new emerging green technologies. The committee is also leading for the CLLS in climate change issues and their impacts upon fuel and other key supply industries of the UK.


Munir Hassan

Committee Chair / Partner, CMS

Munir Hassan is the Head of CMS Energy & Climate Change Group. The Clean Energy practice at CMS is a market leader in the renewables sector in Europe, with a vast portfolio of low carbon projects and transactions across all technologies. Munir advises on all aspects of electricity power generation, particularly in the renewables sector.

[email protected]


Committee Members

Vice Chair: C. Hatcher (Clyde & Co LLP)

David Baker (White & Case LLP)

Michael Coates (Shell International BV)

J. Connick (Clifford Chance LLP)

Maria Connolly (TLT LLP)

Hywel Davies (Slaughter and May)

Iain Elder (Shearman & Sterling LLP)

Jeremy Gewirtz (Linklaters LLP)

William Ingram Hill (Helius Energy LLP)

Stephen Jurgenson (Clyde and Co LLP)

Jonathan Marsh (Vitol BV)

Dominic Morris (Allen & Overy LLP)

James Pay (Clifford Chance LLP)

Elisabeth Sullivan (INEOS Holdings Limited)

Philip Thomson (Ashurst LLP)

David Tennant (Dentons UKMEA LLP)

Geoff Tyler (Pinsent Masons LLP)

Patrick Wallace (Simmons & Simmons LLP)

James Watson (Osborne Clarke LLP)

M. Williams (Hogan Lovells International LLP)

Secretary: Filip Radu (CMS Cameron McKenna Nabarro Olswang LLP)