Construction Law


The Construction Law Committee acts as a forum for construction lawyers working in the City of London to meet and consider topical areas of law relating to the construction industry. All areas of construction law are catered for, including litigation, drafting, PFI/PPP work and international and domestic projects work. Committee members include many leading practitioners from private practice, as well as leading in-house construction lawyers from major contractors and consultants.


Matthew Jones

Committee Chair / Partner, Taylor Wessing

Matthew is the Head of Taylor Wessing’s Construction & Engineering team in the UK. He covers the full span of construction matters, from procurement through to contracts and disputes. Matthew is recognised as a leader in his field. His clients and work are global, with projects in the UK and beyond. He is qualified to practice in Australia as well as England and Wales.

[email protected]


Committee Members

Vice Chair: Francis Ho (Charles Russell Speechlys LLP)

Stephanie Canham (Trowers & Hamlins LLP)

Richard Ceeney (Reed Smith LLP)

Julia Court (Addleshaw Goddard LLP)

Paul Cowan (4 New Square)

Industry representative: Alex Cunliffe (Bechtel)

Angus Dawson (Macfarlanes LLP)

Nicholas Downing (Herbert Smith Freehills LLP)

Fiona Edmond (Charles Russell Speechlys LLP)

Ryan Fordham (Shoosmiths LLP)

Marc Hanson (Mischon de Reya LLP)

Richard Hill (White and Case LLP)

Alistair McGrigor (CMS Cameron McKenna Nabarro Olswang LLP)

Industry representative: Louise Mercer (Marsh)

David Metzger (Clifford Chance LLP)

Industry representative: Drew Norman (Sir Robert McAlpine)

Ben Patton (Ashurst LLP)

Victoria Peckett (Clyde and Co LLP)

Industry representative: James Pratt (Arup)

Gillian Thomas (Hogan Lovells International LLP)

John Woolley (Pinsent Masons LLP)

Secretary: Eleanor Milne (A&O Shearman LLP)