Artificial Intelligence


The specialist Committee on Artificial Intelligence works to coordinate the City of London's response to AI. 

For the law, the opportunities include automating manual tasks to save time and cost, improved access to justice, and – looking further ahead – perhaps AI-assisted negotiations. The challenges include ensuring the reliability and accuracy of AI, job displacement concerns, and meeting ethical standards and regulatory requirements in the legal industry.

The CLLS AI Committee will confront these opportunities and challenges head-on in order to provide guidance to our City members on what matters with this fast-moving and challenging technology.


Minesh Tanna

Committee Chair / Global AI Lead, Simmons & Simmons

Minesh leads Simmons’ Global AI team of over 75 lawyers and data scientists. An industry-recognised leader in AI law, Minesh advises clients including global technology companies, financial institutions and governments on legal, regulatory and ethical issues relating to AI. He is also a published author and regular speaker, lecturer and media commentator on AI law.


Committee Members

Vice Chairs: To be appointed

Secretary: Ivan Panton (Clifford Chance LLP)

Georgia Amos (Clyde & Co LLP)

Aileen Armstrong (Executive Director, Solicitors Regulation Authority)

Helen Armstrong (RPC LLP)

Telha Arshad (Hogan Lovells LLP)

Zofia Aszendorf (Freshfields Bruckhaus Deringer LLP)

Oliver Benson (Goodwin Procter LLP)

Huw Beverley-Smith (Faegre Drinkler Biddle & Reath LLP)

Shilpa Bhandarkar (Linklaters LLP)

Klaudija Brami (Macfarlanes LLP)

Rachel Broquard (Eversheds Sutherland LLP)

Lucia Elizalde-Bulanti (Dechert LLP)

Jeremy Coleman (Norton Rose Fullbright LLP)

Dru Corfield (Fenchurch Law LLP)

Joe Devine (White & Case LLP)

Marianna Drake (Covington & Burling LLP)

Sarah Harris (Kingsley Napley LLP)

James Harvey (Weil, Gotshal & Manges LLP)

Matt Hervey (Gowling WLG (UK) LLP)

Christopher Houssemayne du Boulay (Hickman & Rose LLP)

Ian Jeffery (Chief Executive, The Law Society of England & Wales)

Arnav Joshi (Clifford Chance LLP)

Philip Mole (Michelmores LLP)

Charlie Morgan (Herbert Smith Freehills LLP)

Shehana Cameron-Perera (Ashurst LLP)

Ian Ranson (Slaughter and May)

Tim Ryan (DAC Beachcroft LLP)

Kyla Santaella (A&O Shearman LLP)

Sam De Silva (CMS Cameron McKenna LLP)

Daniel Sutherland (Fox Williams LLP)

Eve-Christie Vermynck (Skadden, Arps, Slate, Meagher & Flom LLP)

Presley Warner (Sullivan & Cromwell LLP)

Kerry Westland (Addleshaw Goddard LLP)

Alistair James Wye (Latham & Wakins LLP)